Hello world! What is the issue?

Image

Welcome to my blog, Hide and Seek Forever!  Thank you for taking the time to read this blog!

I wanted to start this blog for a while, so this is a very good moment!  You may be asking, what is this blog about?  The title is crazy elusive and says nothing.

Well, this blog is primarily about LGBT issues.  This is a very hot button topic, especially recently with the passage of more same-sex marriage laws in the United States. 

I am gay, and before I came out to a lot of friends, I remember one of the few people who knew come to me and say, “Come out, come out, wherever you are.”  I know it was meant to be a joke, but it wasn’t funny, at least to me at that time. 

A lot of people still don’t know, but I have a group of great friends and have built a small but mighty support system for myself!  However, I feel like the coming out and even identification process of being able to say “Hello, I’m gay [or trans, bi, etc.]) is harder than just getting up one day and announcing it to the sky.  Most people spend their entire lives being told that they are something.  “You are tall, you are an athlete, you have a small nose, you are straight, you are a boy, etc.”  So being able to accept that you may not be something that you have grown up believing is not just a process of explaining to your peers and family, it is also a process of acceptance within YOURSELF.

Thus, I believe, instead of coming out, identifying sexuality is more-so like a game of hide and seek.  It can take time.  Sometimes days, maybe even months or years.  Often, it is touch and go.  You could open up to two or three friends and then not want to tell anyone for a while after that.  But the first part of acceptance happens within yourself.  And I know that sometimes, it can be hard for an LGBT person to accept themselves.  Again, it is a process.

I made this blog for several reasons:

1) To discuss and share LGBT related issues and events in the current news and news syndicates.

2) To provide an outlet for other LGBT people.  I am here for advice or just to listen and share stories.

3) To learn and discuss ideas with people who are not LGBT.  Some people may be confused about LGBT issues.  Others reading this blog may be straight and/or allies.  And others may have a completely different viewpoint and ideology.  I want to here from all people.

I have several goals for this blog too:

1) Post at least once a day.

2) Post a variety of information: stories, anecdotes, quotes, pictures, articles.

3) Keep an active account of LGBT issues in the news.

Thank you for your support!

Image

Leave a Reply

